Credit Card Processing





Return to Hollywood: A Celebration of American Silent Film (1980) Laser disc transfer
Sort By::
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great Transfer Of An Amazing Series May 13, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Whitehorse, YT Canada  
I didn't see this programme when it first aired, I only discovered it thanks to a comment on a movie podcast. Thames did a great job producing this documentary. It should be required viewing for anyone interested in making films. The silent era is ignored far too often. This programme not only showcases some of the great work from Hollywood back then but gives a voice to those involved. If you have any interest in silents then this a must-watch.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent January 29, 2020
Reviewer: michael aulenbach from allentown, PA United States  
one of the best documentary ever produced on the silent film era.the laserdisc transfer to dvd is excellent.i still have the complete vhs tape set but of course i have not had a vhs tape player in over 15 years. thanks!

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Hollywood: A Celebration of American Silent Film January 28, 2020
Reviewer: Ron from Los Angeles, CA United States  
For at least 15 years I've kept searching for a re-issue of this superb documentary on DVD.

By chance I learned about the availability through MovieDetectives and took a chance.
Let me assure you the transfer is excellent.  I own a  65 inch top-of the-line Samsung 4K and an Oppo 4K disc player and I was not disappointed at the image and sound.

I highly recommend a purchase; the series remains as fascinating as when I first saw it more than 25 years ago late at night on a  Los Angeles local station.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Kevin Browlow's "Hollywood" January 16, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Topanga, CA United States  
This is the highest quality version of this magnificent documentary that I have found,

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 5 stars December 12, 2019
Reviewer: Barry Hufstedler from Rockford, IL United States  
5 stars

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Overall very pleased August 20, 2019
Reviewer: Barry Stovel from Victoria, BC Canada  
Was unimpressed with the packing: 2 DVDs each to a rather tight plastic sleeve -one could put fingerprints on the DVD while extracting it.  There is a label on each side of the plastic sleeve, i.e., "Hollywood Disc 1" etc. The DVDs themselves are totally bare.
Now for the positive: I'm very pleased with the LD transfer to DVDs.  I wasn't expecting remastered DVD quality, but the
MovieDetective DVDs are very good.  Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent purchase. June 8, 2019
Reviewer: Tom Watkins from Spokane, WA United States  
High quality, best value, could not get this anywhere else.  I have recommended you to friends

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 As good as it gets April 18, 2019
Reviewer: Tim Casey from Roslindale, MA United States  
The laserdisc is (unfortunately) the best edition you'll ever see of this wonderful and culturally vital documentary. This transfer is MUCH better than the one I attempted. The film clips are VHS quality, but honestly - within fifteen minutes, it doesn't even bother you. And this is coming from a blu ray fanatic. Buy this set now.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 5 stars April 4, 2019
Reviewer: David Cohen from South Miami , FL United States  
5 stars

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent Documentary January 18, 2019
Reviewer: Silent Cinema Fan from Orlando, FL United States  
I am very pleased with this purchase . The transfer quality is very good and I received my discs in only two days.  Thank you Movie Detective !   This is an excellent documentary that deserves to be seen more widely.  I have the companion book Hollywood: The Pioneers and other books by the director Kevin Brownlow (The Parade's Gone By)  and this documentary film is something I have always wanted to have it on DVD.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items