Credit Card Processing





Return to Hollywood: A Celebration of American Silent Film (1980) Laser disc transfer
Sort By::
Page of 4
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 High Quality Videos October 7, 2021
Reviewer: JOHN EBSEN from MADISON, WI United States  
There are 13 one-hour segments, originally intended for TV, I suppose.  The stories focus on the people who starred-in or made silent films.  There were short outakes of some of the famous scenes.   It was a window to another era, and did uncover some of the dark side.  I especially enjoyed interviews with silent film stars - or family- who were still living in the late 1970's.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Outstanding June 29, 2021
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Irvine, CA United States  
Outstanding in every way.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 5 stars May 25, 2021
Reviewer: MARGARET ROBERTS from WHEATON, IL United States  
5 stars

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Simple, Easy, Fast, Fun April 19, 2021
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from SADIEVILLE, KY United States  
I 1st saw this documentary while stationed in Germany on late night ZDF.  For years I have been searching for a copy of it.  Lo and Behold! Movie Detective had it at a great price.  Ordering was simple, payment was easy, Shipping was fast and the whole family has had fun watching and learning about early Hollywood.  The discs were exactly as advertised and ran perfectly in our DVD system.
Thanks Movie Detective!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Classic program March 18, 2021
Reviewer: John Rechtfertig from Fremont, CA United States  
Good transfer---glad to have it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 5 stars February 23, 2021
Reviewer: Lee Hammock from New Orleans, LA United States  
5 stars

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great Transfer Of An Amazing Series May 13, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Whitehorse, YT Canada  
I didn't see this programme when it first aired, I only discovered it thanks to a comment on a movie podcast. Thames did a great job producing this documentary. It should be required viewing for anyone interested in making films. The silent era is ignored far too often. This programme not only showcases some of the great work from Hollywood back then but gives a voice to those involved. If you have any interest in silents then this a must-watch.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent January 29, 2020
Reviewer: michael aulenbach from allentown, PA United States  
one of the best documentary ever produced on the silent film era.the laserdisc transfer to dvd is excellent.i still have the complete vhs tape set but of course i have not had a vhs tape player in over 15 years. thanks!

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Hollywood: A Celebration of American Silent Film January 28, 2020
Reviewer: Ron from Los Angeles, CA United States  
For at least 15 years I've kept searching for a re-issue of this superb documentary on DVD.

By chance I learned about the availability through MovieDetectives and took a chance.
Let me assure you the transfer is excellent.  I own a  65 inch top-of the-line Samsung 4K and an Oppo 4K disc player and I was not disappointed at the image and sound.

I highly recommend a purchase; the series remains as fascinating as when I first saw it more than 25 years ago late at night on a  Los Angeles local station.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Kevin Browlow's "Hollywood" January 16, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Topanga, CA United States  
This is the highest quality version of this magnificent documentary that I have found,

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items